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The following describes how to process employees in Core-CT who are eligible to earn sick time under 

PA 11-52 Connecticut Paid Sick Leave Law. This document is a summary of the requirements and does 

not represent all aspects of eligibility or entitlements. Refer to the State Statute for more details. 

 

In general, the law provides the following: 

 

• Sick time is earned on a basis of one hour earned for every 40 hours worked 

• Employees cannot use sick time until they have worked a total of 680 hours 

• Employees cannot earn more than 40 hours of sick time in a calendar year 

• Employees cannot use more than 40 hours in a calendar year 

• Employees are allowed to carry over 40 hours from one calendar year to the next but cannot 

exceed an 80 hour balance. 

 

Employees must be enrolled in the leave plan created specifically for the Law. The plan has a maximum 

balance of 80 hours and does not award any hours. 
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S80BPW Leave Plan Setup 
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Navigation: Nav Bar> Menu> Core-CT HRMS> Benefits > Enroll In Benefits > Benefits Leave Plans 

> Leave Plans 

 

I. Enroll Employee in Sick Plan 

 

Enroll the employee in the leave plan S80BPW effective with the first day of a pay period (or the 

hire/rehire date). 

 

 

 
 

The employee must be in the STU (Stdnt, Inmt, Patnt, Cntrct Pgm), NPS (NB Part-Time w/Sup Min Sal) 
or the SES (Sessional Employee Program) Benefit Program in order to be enrolled in the S80BPW sick 

plan. 
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Navigation: Core-CT HRMS> Time and Labor > Manage Time Reporter Data  

 

 

 
 

II. Enroll Employee in Workgroup 

 

Enroll employee in one of the Service Worker Workgroups using the same effective date used for the 

Sick leave plan. These workgroups contain the rule that will create an exception if the employee has used 

more than 40 hours of sick time in a calendar year. 

 

04PSERVWKA = Needs Approval (Self-Service) 

04PSERVWKR = Does not Need Approval (non Self-Service) 
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Note: Verify the Sick eligibility flag. The default value is ‘Y’. 

 

Set to ‘N’ if the employee has not met the requirements to use sick time 

Set to ‘Y’ if the employee is entitled to use sick time 

 

Set the Vacation eligibility flag to ‘N’ 

 

 

III.   Update Carryover Table 

 

Update Carryover Table, if needed. The CT_HRS_CTTLB361 table will store any hours in excess of 40 

after the calculation of hours earned each pay period. The Carryover Table is available in EPM for 

reporting purposes. 

 

Sample carryover table: 

 
 

It may be necessary to update this table on occasion. A template has been created that will be uploaded to 

the table and will replace the carryover that exists for the last accrual process date or will create a new 

row if one does not exist for the date specified. The template is located on the Core-CT web page under 
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Time and Labor job aids: Main Menu > Core-CT HRMS > Time and Labor > Time & Labor Job Aids > 

Service Worker Carryover Template. Instructions for completing the Template are contained within the 

job aid. 

 

Examples of situations when the table may need to be updated: 

 

1. A new hire has hours previously worked for the State of Connecticut that will count towards earning 

sick time. These hours have never been included in a previous calculation of hours worked for purposes 

of PA 11-52 Connecticut Paid Sick Leave Law. 

 

2. An employee was paid for working hours that were not processed through Time and Labor. These 

hours were either paid via Additional Pay or through a Payline Adjustment. In addition, hours entered in 
Adjust Paid Time will not be picked up in the calculation and may need to be included in the carryover. 

 

3. To correct an error in a manual calculation of hours worked. If an error was discovered in a manual 

calculation of hours worked that change the number of carryover hours, the hours on the Carryover Table 

can be adjusted. (Note: If the error only resulted in a change in the number of sick hours earned, make a 

manual adjustment on the current timesheet using the adjustment codes SKAA or SKAD to add or deduct 

sick time earned.) 

 

 

Sample Carryover Template: 

 
 

The Template cannot be altered in any way except to insert the information indicated. The format of the 

columns/cells should be followed when entering employee data. Refer to the format/field size at the top of 

each column just below the field name. In addition, the column headers (field name) should not be 

changed. To add a new row to the carryover table, type A (Add) and complete the employee information. 

To update an existing row, type C (Change) and complete the employee information.  

 

Send the completed Service Worker Carryover Template to the Time and Labor Team via email. You will 

be notified once it has been loaded. 

 

After the template has been uploaded to Core-CT the Carryover table will be updated. 
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IV.   How Sick Time is Calculated 

 

Hours worked in the pay period: 

 

 
 

Calculation: 

Carryover from previous pay period 37.00 

Hours worked current pay period 14.00 

Total hours worked   51.00 

 

Hours Earned 51.00 / 40.00 = 1.275 or 1 hour 

New Carryover  51.00 – (40 x 1) = 11.00 

 

V. System Processing on Pay Confirm Day 

 

After pay confirm, the standard accrual jobs will run and a row will be created with the pay period end 

date. No hours will be earned. This row will reflect any sick time transactions that had been entered on 

the Timesheet, Additional Pay or Payline Adjustments for the same pay period end date as the Accrual 

Date. 
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Review the Accrual Balances page after the accrual process creates the pay period end row: 

 

 
 

Once all of the accrual jobs have completed, the CTTLB361 will run. This is the program that will 

calculate hours earned based on the hours worked. The calculation will include the carryover hours from 

the previous calculation. If this is the very first calculation, the program will include the hours worked 

from the S80BPW enrollment date to the Accrual Date. 

 

The CTTLB361 program will update the Review Accrual Balances row just created by the standard 

accrual jobs with the number of earned hours calculated by the program.  
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Review Accrual Balances after sick time is calculated: 

 
 

VI.   Review Report 

 

A report will be produced by the CTTLB361 program showing the amount of time accrued for the pay 

period. It will also display the number of hours earned for the calendar year. Agencies will need to 

monitor the Earned YTD to ensure that employees do not exceed the 40 hour calendar year maximum. 

Once an employee reaches 40 hours earned in a calendar year, enroll them in the no accrual plan. At the 

same time, re-enroll them in S80BPW effective with the following January 1. 

 

Only employees who have earned time in the current pay period will appear on the report. 

 

Sample report (Name removed): 
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VII. Update Carryover Table 

 

After the hours earned have been calculated for the current pay period, the CTTLB361 program will 

update the Carryover table with an effective dated row equal to the Accrual date. The new row will reflect 

any hours in excess of 40-hour increments (or zero if there are none).  

 

Sample employee updated from 37.00 hours to 11.00 hours effective 11/9/17: 

 

 
 

 

VIII. Update Employee Setup 

 

Once an employee has met the requirements for usage of sick time, the Sick Eligibility flag on Maintain 

Time Reporter must be updated so that sick time can be entered and saved on the Timesheet. The 

effective date should be the first day of a pay period. 

 

Eligible for Sick flag updated to ‘Y’:  
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IX. Timesheet Error Messages 

 

A. The employee will be unable to save sick time to the timesheet if the Eligible for Sick flag is set 

to ‘N’ 

 

Timesheet with sick time posted and eligibility flag set to ‘N’:  

 

 
Error Message: 
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B. The employee will be unable to save the Timesheet if the sick time posted exceeds the 

employee’s balance.  

 

Timesheet with sick time posted, eligibility flag is set to ‘Y’ and sick is posted in excess of balance: 
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Error Message: 
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C. If the employee has greater than 40 hours in the balance, and the employee uses it, the Timesheet 

will save even though the maximum is 40 hours used in a calendar year. During the nightly Time 

Administration process, an exception will be created for the days on which the 40-hour limit was 

exceeded. 

 

 

Timesheet with sick posted and employee has already used 40 hours in the calendar year: 

 

 
 

 
 

The timesheet will save successfully as the employee has enough sick time to cover what is being posted. 

Time Administration will run overnight, and an exception will be created. 
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Exception:  
 

 
 

 
 

 

The Allow checkbox is grayed out as the exception is not allowable. To clear the exception the sick time 

must be changed to another TRC on the Timesheet such as ULSCK or deleted altogether. The only TRCs 

available to Service Workers and that will count towards the 40 hour maximum are SICK, SFAM and SP. 

The exception will be cleared with the next run of Time Admin. 

 

Users can check for exceptions on either of two online pages at : 

 

Core-CT HRMS > Manager Self Service > Team Time Tile > Exceptions.  

or  

Core-CT HRMS > Time and Labor > Team Time Tile > Exceptions.  

 

There is also an Exceptions report that can be found at Nav Bar > Menu >Core-CT HRMS > Time and 
Labor > Reports > T&L Exception Rpt – CTTLR365. 
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Exceptions Report: 

 
 


